January 2023 Newsletter

Dear TBM Council members,

Happy New Year! 2023 has officially begun (whether we’re ready or not!). We have great events coming up this year, with new dates posted for Executive Primers, TBM-Cloud Primers, Q1 Strategy Community Meetings, New Member Webinars (open to all Executive and Practitioner members), and the first TBM Tuesday of the year. Take a look at the events page and feel free to share with your colleagues.  

Modernizing Annual investment Planning with Agile: Lowe’s TBM Journey

In the first TBM Tuesday of 2023 on February 28, Kelley Wendelborn, Chris Ross, and Anita Selman from Lowe’s, winner of the 2022 TBM Council Agile Evolution Award, will share how TBM helped modernize Lowe’s annual investment planning process by funding product teams with specific targeted value. Discussion topics will include:  

  • How TBM helps organizations understand costs and deliver strategic value to the enterprise 
  • The importance of a strong partnership between technology and finance teams 
  • How product TCO reporting and agile development help teams execute business requirements with incredible speed-to-market 
  • Using existing data to understand and capture value created 

Register here!  

Want more? TBM Tuesdays On-Demand library is available online where you can filter between Agile Program Management, Cloud Center of Excellence, Executive Leadership, and Investment Analysis & Optimization topics. 

TBM Council Membership Survey  

The annual membership survey will close on January 31st. Please let us know: what topics are top of mind for you in 2023? How can the membership experience be improved? This is your TBM Community and your input will shape the experience for all members.   

Take the 5-minute membership survey here. 

January Member Spotlight 

This month, we are spotlighting Yuji Kumasaka, IT Governance Senior Manager at H2O Retailing Corporation. Kumasaka-San has been a TBM Council member since 2021 and has recently provided the TBM Community with a Japanese translation of the TBM Book, “Technology Business Management: The Four Value Conversations CIOs Must Have With Their Businesses”, written in 2016 by the TBM Council’s former VP of Standards and Education. Thank you for being a part of our community Kumasaka-San. 

Read more and connect with Kumasaka-San here 

TBM Council events coming up: 

Community Events

Date

Event Title

Time

Registration

January 19

New Member Webinar

Virtual

7:00am PST | 10:00am EST 

Register here

January 19
Americas

New Member Webinar

Virtual

4:00pm PST

Register here


Education

Date

Event Title

Time

Registration

January 23-26
Americas

TBM Executive Foundation Course & Certification

Virtual

9am EST | 12pm EST

Register here

January 31
Americas

TBM Executive Primer

Virtual

1pm PST | 4pm EST

Register here

As a reminder:    

 

Warm Regards,

Eileen Wade    

General Manager   

Technology Business Management (TBM) Council