September 2022 Newsletter

Dear TBM Council members, 

We are thrilled to announce the finalists for the 2022 TBM Council Awards – View the press release here – best of luck to the finalists! The winners will be recognized at the TBM Council Awards ceremony on Nov. 8 during TBM Conference 2022 (TBMC22). If you are interested in staying up to date with all things TBM Conference, be sure to join the new TBM Connect community for TBMC22. We will update this community with conference news including new speaker announcements, exciting details, and what to expect at TBMC22. 

Continue reading for new TBM Council resources and opportunities coming up for the month of September. 

TBM Tuesday: Evolving Technology Planning & Funding Models for Business Agility 

Join members of the TBM Council’s Asia-Pacific Regional Advisory Board to discuss real-world experiences and challenges that organizations navigate when scaling Agile and DevOps practices throughout the enterprise. Register now! 

The Regional Advisory Board recently released a whitepaper on this very topic, now available in the TBM Council Resource Center. 

New Online Resources 

TBM Council Resource Center 

We are excited to share our new Resource Center, now live on our website. Here you can find:  

  • Whitepaper & Infographic: Evolving Technology Planning & Funding Models for Business Agility 
  • Infographic: The 2021 State of TBM 
  • Research Report: The 2021 State of TBM 

We will continue to add valuable resources for our members and the public to the Resource Center. Members can also take advantage of TBM Connect, a private portal with archives of past resources from the last decade, current and ongoing projects from Strategy Communities and the Standards Committee, the latest resources from the Council, and other useful documents. Browse the library in Central Connect (not available to Associate members) and other communities or use the site-wide search bar to find what you’re looking for. 

What is TBM? 

We have recently been discussing how TBM has continued to adapt over the years to address the challenges faced by the modern enterprise. You can view more about this topic in this this article by the Chairman of our Board of Directors Phil Armstrong and a 15-minute presentation by board member and Chairman of our Standards Committee, Atticus Tysen. You can view the What is TBM? page on our website to learn more about the modern definition of TBM and how it can transform your organization.  

Members can also download a PowerPoint template that supports the modernization of TBM in your organization, where you can use this messaging, both internally and externally, to support your TBM practice. It has been adapted from the presentation used in Atticus Tysen’s session at the 2022 TBM Council Board of Directors Invitational, “TBM for the Modern Enterprise”. 

Certification Discount at TBMC22 

If you have been waiting for the perfect opportunity to take the TBM Executive Foundation Course & Certification, now is the time. We are offering a 20% discount to TBM Conference attendees. The course will take place on November 5-6, at the Fairmont Austin, just before the conference begins on November 7th. To receive the discount, register for TBM Conference 2022 and add the TBM Executive Foundation course to your registration. Don’t forget to use code MEMBER20 to receive a 20% discount off your registration fee as well! 

September 2022 Member Spotlight:  

We are proud to feature Curtis Cutler, Senior Manager, IT Finance at Smithfield Foods for the September TBM Council member spotlight! Curtis has been a member of the Council since 2021, is a Certified TBM Executive (CTBME), and participates in various TBM Council programs. Thanks for being our September spotlight, Curtis! Read more about Curtis and Connect with him here. 

TBM Council events coming up:

TBM Tuesday Webinars  

Date  

Event Title & Location  

Time  

Registration  

September 20 
Asia/Australia 

Evolving Technology Planning & Funding Models for Business Agility 
Virtual

8am SGT | 9am JST | 10am AEST 

Register here    

Community Events 

Date  

Event Title & Location  

Time  

Registration  

September 13  
Americas/Europe

TBM Adoption & Maturity Strategy Community Meeting 
Virtual 

8am PDT | 11am EDT | 3pm GMT  

Register here   

September 14  
Americas/Europe

TBM Standards Open Forum 
Virtual  

8am PDT | 11am EDT | 3pm GMT  

Register here   

September 15  
Americas/Europe
September 16 
Asia/Australia  

New Member Webinar 
Virtual   

4pm PDT 

8am JST | 9am AEST 

Register here   

September 16 
Americas/Europe

New Member Webinar 
Virtual  

10am EDT | 2pm GMT 

Register here   

September 28 
Americas/Europe

CFO of IT Strategy Community Meeting 
Virtual  

8am PDT | 11am EDT | 3pm GMT 

Register here   

Education  

Date  

Event Title & Location  

Time  

Registration  

September 5  
Americas/Europe 

TBM Executive Primer 
Virtual   

9am EDT | 1pm GMT  

Register here 

September 6  
Americas 
September 7  
Asia/Australia 

TBM Executive Primer 
Virtual   

3pm PDT 

8am AEST 

Register here 

September 19-22  
Asia/Australia 

TBM Executive Foundation Course & Certification 
Virtual   

8:30am JST | 9:30am AEST 

Register here 

September 26  
Americas/Europe

TBM Executive Foundation Course & Certification 
Virtual   

8:30am EDT | 12:30pm GMT  

Register here 

September 27 
Americas/Europe

TBM-for-Cloud Primer 
Virtual   

8am PDT | 11am EDT | 3pm GMT  

Register here 

September 28 
Asia/Australia

TBM-for-Cloud Primer 
Virtual   

8am SGT | 9am JST | 10am AEST 

Register here 

Industry Events 

Date  

Event Title & Location  

Time  

Registration  

September 28-29  
Americas/Europe

ISG SourceIT 
Dallas, Texas

8:30am CDT 

Register here   

 As a reminder:   

Hope to see you in Austin in November!   

Warm Regards,   

Eileen Wade   

General Manager 

Technology Business Management (TBM) Council